Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Organization of NJCAA Regions

Member colleges of the NJCAA are allotted to a specific NJCAA Region upon membership to the association. Unlike other collegiate organizations that defer to conference affiliation, the NJCAA guarantees each member college's membership within the regional structure of the association. In most cases, region assignment is based upon geographic location of the college. 

To view a full list of NJCAA members, visit: NJCAA Member College Directory

To view a map of NJCAA members, visit: NJCAA Membership Map

Each NJCAA Region appoints two directors to serve on the association’s board of directors and national committees. Regions also appoint two assistant directors that are also available to serve on national committees. Within each region, member colleges can adopt and formalize regulations, rules, and procedures as long as they are not in conflict with the current NJCAA constitution and bylaws.

The region structure of the NJCAA is the primary method used by all sponsored sports of the association in determining qualification for national championship tournaments. In certain sports, two or more regions are partnered to form a competition 'district', which is then used for national championship qualification. The organization of districts varies per sport and is formulated every two years under the authority of the association's board of directors. 

 Region Structure of the NJCAA

Region 1 Arizona
Region 2 Arkansas and Oklahoma
Region 3 Upper New York State
Region 4 Upper Illinois and Southern Wisconsin
Region 5 New Mexico and Western Texas
Region 6 Kansas
Region 7 Tennessee
Region 8 Florida
Region 9 Colorado east of the Continental Divide, Eastern Montana, Nebraska, and Wyoming
Region 10 North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and South West Virginia
Region 11 Iowa and Northeast Nebraska
Region 12 Indiana, Lower Michigan, and Ohio
Region 13 Minnesota, North Dakota, Upper Michigan Peninsula, Northern Wisconsin, and Montana
Region 14 Eastern Texas and Southwestern Louisiana
Region 15 Lower New York
Region 16 Missouri
Region 17 Georgia
Region 18 Colorado west of the Continental Divide, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Western Montana, and Utah
Region 19 Eastern Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey
Region 20 Maryland, Western Pennsylvania, and West Virginia Panhandle
Region 21 Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island
Region 22 Alabama
Region 23 Mississippi and Louisiana
Region 24 Lower Illinois